The APIs are flexible and easy-to-use, supporting authentication, user identity, and complex enterprise features like SSO and SCIM provisioning. Learn more →
Top 23 Database Open-Source Projects
-
-
InfluxDB
Power Real-Time Data Analytics at Scale. Get real-time insights from all types of time series data with InfluxDB. Ingest, query, and analyze billions of data points in real-time with unbounded cardinality.
-
-
test-your-sysadmin-skills
A collection of Linux Sysadmin Test Questions and Answers. Test your knowledge and skills in different fields with these Q/A.
-
Trino
Official repository of Trino, the distributed SQL query engine for big data, formerly known as PrestoSQL (https://trino.io)
-
prql
PRQL is a modern language for transforming data — a simple, powerful, pipelined SQL replacement
-
-
WorkOS
The modern identity platform for B2B SaaS. The APIs are flexible and easy-to-use, supporting authentication, user identity, and complex enterprise features like SSO and SCIM provisioning.
-
pREST
PostgreSQL ➕ REST, low-code, simplify and accelerate development, ⚡ instant, realtime, high-performance on any Postgres application, existing or new
-
readyset
Readyset is a MySQL and Postgres wire-compatible caching layer that sits in front of existing databases to speed up queries and horizontally scale read throughput. Under the hood, ReadySet caches the results of cached select statements and incrementally updates these results over time as the underlying data changes.
-
-
-
skytable
Skytable is a modern scalable NoSQL database with BlueQL, designed for performance, scalability and flexibility. Skytable gives you spaces, models, data types, complex collections and more to build powerful experiences
-
-
awesome-backend
🚀 A curated and opinionated list of resources (English & Russian) for Backend developers | Структурированный список ресурсов для изучения Backend разработки
-
swirl-search
Swirl is an open-source search platform that uses AI to search multiple content and data sources simultaneously and return AI-ranked results. And provides summaries of your answers from searches using LLMs. It's a one-click, easy-to-use Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG) Solution.
-
learn_devops
I am using this repository to document my devops journey. I follow the process of learning everything by tasks. Every task has an associated objective that encompasses an underlying concept. Concepts including CloudProviders, Containers, ContainersOrchestration, Databases, InfrastructureAsCode, Interview, VersionControl etc in progress
-
acra
Database security suite. Database proxy with field-level encryption, search through encrypted data, SQL injections prevention, intrusion detection, honeypots. Supports client-side and proxy-side ("transparent") encryption. SQL, NoSQL. (by cossacklabs)
-
-
Bayeslite
BayesDB on SQLite. A Bayesian database table for querying the probable implications of data as easily as SQL databases query the data itself.
-
SaaSHub
SaaSHub - Software Alternatives and Reviews. SaaSHub helps you find the best software and product alternatives
course Computer science is very wast field the fundamental remains same, learn basic fundamentals, data structures, concepts of object oriented programming.
Go does not natively support the use of migrations, but we could use the ORM that has this functionality, such as GORM which is the most used by the community, but We can use migrations without using an ORM, for this we will use the golang-migrate package.
With a serverful approach, you can avoid these drawbacks, and the main challenge lies in selecting the platform that aligns with your requirements. Options may include AWS, Render, DigitalOcean, and others. While VPS is also an option, it's generally not recommended due to the significant setup and maintenance overhead involved (logging, monitoring, CI/CD pipelines, etc.). However, you can make your life easier by leveraging tools like Coolify that help managing your VPS.
Project mention: Trino: Fast distributed SQL query engine for big data analytics | news.ycombinator.com | 2024-03-19
Project mention: Prolog language for PostgreSQL proof of concept | news.ycombinator.com | 2024-03-30
Project mention: Ask HN: How Can I Make My Front End React to Database Changes in Real-Time? | news.ycombinator.com | 2024-04-17- Some platforms like Supabase Realtime [3] and Firebase offer subscription models to database changes, but these solutions fall short when dealing with complex queries involving joins or group-bys.
My vision is that the modern frontend to behave like a series of materialized views that dynamically update as the underlying data changes. Current state management libraries handle state trees well but don't seamlessly integrate with relational or graph-like database structures.
The only thing I can think of is to implement it by myself, which sounds like a big PITA.
Anything goes, Brainstorm with me. Is it causing you headaches as well? Are you familiar with an efficient solution? how are you all tackling it?
[1] https://readyset.io/
Project mention: Show HN: Skytable's new NoSQL engine BlueQL with injection safety, improved perf | news.ycombinator.com | 2023-12-10Hey HN!
I've been working on Skytable since 2020 and after several iterations from a simple K/V store, we've walked the path to this release. The goal of Skytable is to deliver a solid foundation for building data intensive applications.
Skytable's primary goal is performance and scale. Even with a query language it can outperform K/V stores which use simple commands (benchmarks will be shared in another post).
Several implementations in Skytable (especially around query evaluation and execution) are fundamentally different from SQL and even NoSQL counterparts and there are some entirely new concepts which might make it a little hard to grasp.
BlueQL is a very important part of Skytable and it employs some interesting concepts to try and reduce the surface for injection attacks and tries to be a modern and secure alternative to SQL.
- Source code: https://github.com/skytable/skytable
View on GitHub
Project mention: GitHub - swirlai/swirl-search: Swirl is an open-source search platform that uses AI to search multiple content and data sources simultaneously, finds the best results using a reader LLM, then prompts Generative AI, enabling you to get answers based on your data. | /r/programming | 2023-12-05
Project mention: Generate and run SQL with GPT in Database Client (built with go - wails) | /r/golang | 2023-07-02
NOTE:
The open source projects on this list are ordered by number of github stars.
The number of mentions indicates repo mentiontions in the last 12 Months or
since we started tracking (Dec 2020).
Databases related posts
- Composable Architecture 101: Guide to better understanding
- SQL is syntactic sugar for relational algebra
- Bicycle 0.2.0 adds support for WebAssembly SPROCs
- LiteJQ: Jq Support in SQLite
- Readyset: A MySQL and Postgres wire-compatible caching layer
- ClickBench – A Benchmark for Analytical DBMS
- Why Postgres RDS didn't work for us
-
A note from our sponsor - WorkOS
workos.com | 24 Apr 2024
Index
What are some of the best open-source Database projects? This list will help you:
| Project | Stars | |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | cs-video-courses | 64,788 |
| 2 | migrate | 13,946 |
| 3 | coolify | 13,311 |
| 4 | test-your-sysadmin-skills | 10,428 |
| 5 | Trino | 9,552 |
| 6 | prql | 9,427 |
| 7 | developer-handbook | 5,752 |
| 8 | pREST | 4,084 |
| 9 | readyset | 3,867 |
| 10 | cloudbeaver | 3,066 |
| 11 | roaring | 2,349 |
| 12 | backend-cheats | 2,275 |
| 13 | skytable | 2,249 |
| 14 | ROM | 2,063 |
| 15 | awesome-backend | 1,753 |
| 16 | ormar | 1,573 |
| 17 | swirl-search | 1,509 |
| 18 | learn_devops | 1,354 |
| 19 | acra | 1,294 |
| 20 | slashbase | 1,294 |
| 21 | rust_sqlite | 1,058 |
| 22 | libpqxx | 934 |
| 23 | Bayeslite | 914 |
Sponsored
SaaSHub - Software Alternatives and Reviews
SaaSHub helps you find the best software and product alternatives
www.saashub.com