vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced VS Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2

Compare vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced vs Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2 and see what are their differences.

vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced

One of the "BEST" markdown preview extensions for Visual Studio Code (by shd101wyy)

Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2

Bracket Colorizer Extension for VSCode (by CoenraadS)
Our great sponsors
  • Appwrite - The Open Source Firebase alternative introduces iOS support
  • Scout APM - Less time debugging, more time building
  • SonarQube - Static code analysis for 29 languages.
vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2
3 9
948 722
- -
3.8 0.5
23 days ago over 1 year ago
TypeScript TypeScript
GNU General Public License v3.0 or later MIT License
The number of mentions indicates the total number of mentions that we've tracked plus the number of user suggested alternatives.
Stars - the number of stars that a project has on GitHub. Growth - month over month growth in stars.
Activity is a relative number indicating how actively a project is being developed. Recent commits have higher weight than older ones.
For example, an activity of 9.0 indicates that a project is amongst the top 10% of the most actively developed projects that we are tracking.

vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced

Posts with mentions or reviews of vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced. We have used some of these posts to build our list of alternatives and similar projects. The last one was on 2022-06-19.

Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2

Posts with mentions or reviews of Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2. We have used some of these posts to build our list of alternatives and similar projects. The last one was on 2022-04-21.
  • VS Code Extensions For Python Developers.
    6 projects | dev.to | 21 Apr 2022
  • How We Made Bracket Pair Colorization 10,000x Faster
    7 projects | reddit.com/r/programming | 29 Sep 2021
    yeah, he was tired of maintaining it and also there was open dialog about closing his own project, so it seems pretty reasonable. i'm sure there is further correspondence with the creator of the original plugin, but for the most part it seems like he didn't want to maintain it anymore and was happy to see MS incorporate his idea
    7 projects | reddit.com/r/programming | 29 Sep 2021
    16 projects | news.ycombinator.com | 29 Sep 2021
    The original developer doesn't sound too worried and seems to have collaborated on the feature: https://github.com/CoenraadS/Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2/issues...

    Plus it helps him getting rid of 399 open issues.

  • Why was the Brackets Pair Colorizer extension archived?
    5 projects | reddit.com/r/vscode | 30 Apr 2021
    GitHub: Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2
    5 projects | reddit.com/r/vscode | 30 Apr 2021
    However, the most recently created issue with a discussion seems to be CoenraadS/Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2#436 which is from 7 days ago, and the most recent issue is from 2 days ago, so I figure the repo must have been archived since then.
    5 projects | reddit.com/r/vscode | 30 Apr 2021
    It works mostly, but there are still a few bugs, such as escaped brackets in Python's f-strings not working, as noted in CoenraadS/Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2#156 (the issue I was originally looking up).
    5 projects | reddit.com/r/vscode | 30 Apr 2021
    Which commit are you referring to? As far as I can tell, the last one was made almost a year ago, so it seems like the extension has been abandoned for quite a long time. I have no idea why exactly it happened, probably because the developer lost interest in maintaining it. Worth noting is that there's a feature request for adding bracket pair colorization to VS Code (microsoft/vscode#96899), which has been backlogged.
  • Scoped indentation highlighting
    2 projects | reddit.com/r/emacs | 12 Apr 2021
    Is there a way to do something like what they have in VSCode? https://github.com/CoenraadS/Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2

What are some alternatives?

When comparing vscode-markdown-preview-enhanced and Bracket-Pair-Colorizer-2 you can also consider the following projects:

nvim-ts-rainbow - Rainbow parentheses for neovim using tree-sitter. https://sr.ht/~p00f/nvim-ts-rainbow preferred

rainbow-delimiters - Emacs rainbow delimiters mode

Visual Studio Code - Visual Studio Code

marp-vscode - Marp for VS Code: Create slide deck written in Marp Markdown on VS Code

vscode-python - Python extension for Visual Studio Code

prism.el - Disperse Lisp forms (and other languages) into a spectrum of colors by depth

vscode-front-matter - Front Matter is a CMS running straight in Visual Studio Code. Can be used with static site generators like Hugo, Jekyll, Hexo, NextJs, Gatsby, and many more...

dark - Client, backend, and services for Dark: https://darklang.com

vscode-markdown-editor - A vscode extension to make your vscode become a full-featured WYSIWYG markdown editor

WebViewFeedback - Feedback repo for Microsoft Edge WebView2

vscode-extension-samples - Sample code illustrating the VS Code extension API.

highlight-indent-guides - Emacs minor mode to highlight indentation