gh-markdown-preview VS goldmark

Compare gh-markdown-preview vs goldmark and see what are their differences.

gh-markdown-preview

GitHub CLI extension to preview Markdown looks like GitHub. (by yusukebe)

goldmark

:trophy: A markdown parser written in Go. Easy to extend, standard(CommonMark) compliant, well structured. (by yuin)
Our great sponsors
  • SonarQube - Static code analysis for 29 languages.
  • JetBrains - Developer Ecosystem Survey 2022
  • Scout APM - Less time debugging, more time building
gh-markdown-preview goldmark
1 6
122 2,173
- -
7.7 7.8
2 months ago 19 days ago
Go Go
MIT License MIT License
The number of mentions indicates the total number of mentions that we've tracked plus the number of user suggested alternatives.
Stars - the number of stars that a project has on GitHub. Growth - month over month growth in stars.
Activity is a relative number indicating how actively a project is being developed. Recent commits have higher weight than older ones.
For example, an activity of 9.0 indicates that a project is amongst the top 10% of the most actively developed projects that we are tracking.

gh-markdown-preview

Posts with mentions or reviews of gh-markdown-preview. We have used some of these posts to build our list of alternatives and similar projects. The last one was on 2021-10-26.

goldmark

Posts with mentions or reviews of goldmark. We have used some of these posts to build our list of alternatives and similar projects. The last one was on 2022-06-10.
  • Hugo.io - Multiline cells in a table
    2 projects | dev.to | 10 Jun 2022
    Building table in markdown is super easy and well-documented. However, having a bit of formatting within it, like carriage return within a cell as below is not possible by default. Hugo uses Goldmark (a CommonMark implementation in Go) to process the markdown. Apparently it's extremely fast, with this implementation we choose to block any HTML processing d'HTML by default.
  • Is Astro ready for your blog?
    20 projects | dev.to | 24 Apr 2022
    Comparison: By default, Eleventy uses Markdown-it; like Astro, Gatsby and Next.js use Remark; and Hugo uses goldmark. As for Astro’s ability to mix components and Markdown on a page, probably the closest analogy to this is the use of MDX files in Gatsby and Next.js; Eleventy and Hugo can’t do this (however, see also “Components,” below, for some words on how Eleventy and Hugo use shortcodes which can provide some degree of code-in-Markdown functionality). Note that migrating an existing site to Astro from any of these other platforms probably will involve far more editing to your existing Markdown content than if you were migrating between two of the non-Astro platforms in this mix.
  • Generating HMTL and MD files from .TXT in GO
    3 projects | dev.to | 13 Mar 2022
    3rd party libraries: goldmark for converting MD syntax to HTML
  • MathJax and Hugo
    3 projects | dev.to | 16 Sep 2021
    The solution to the problem of having to escape many characters in LaTeX markup is solved in a simlar manner, however a combination of Hugo now using the Goldmark renderer and the MathJax API changing quite significantly at version 3.0, it largely needs re-writing. Firstly the script to add the class to the code blocks now looks like this:
  • Compounding Competence
    4 projects | dev.to | 11 Apr 2021
    After evaluation a number of other Go markdown libraries, I settled on Goldmark. It was well written, recently updated and easily extensible.
  • Starting my Go work on Monday, some tips of books and courses?
    3 projects | reddit.com/r/golang | 15 Mar 2021
    Aside from Cloud Native programming: I'm doing both Java and Go, and the hardest part probably will be to get rid of that heavy OOP way of thinking. Understanding how to use functions/closures as first class types will help alot. For example, there are Functional Options and some libraries that make heavy use of the functions-first style, e.g. yuin/goldmark or chi.

What are some alternatives?

When comparing gh-markdown-preview and goldmark you can also consider the following projects:

blackfriday - Blackfriday: a markdown processor for Go

markdown - markdown parser and HTML renderer for Go

easy-markdown-editor - EasyMDE: A simple, beautiful, and embeddable JavaScript Markdown editor. Delightful editing for beginners and experts alike. Features built-in autosaving and spell checking.

goldmark-pdf - A PDF renderer for the goldmark markdown parser.

Hugo - The world’s fastest framework for building websites.

MathJax - Beautiful and accessible math in all browsers

remark - remark is a popular tool that transforms markdown with plugins. These plugins can inspect and change your markup. You can use remark on the server, the client, CLIs, deno, etc.

GO Transliterator - Golang text Transliterator (i.e München -> Muenchen)

go-edlib - 📚 String comparison and edit distance algorithms library, featuring : Levenshtein, LCS, Hamming, Damerau levenshtein (OSA and Adjacent transpositions algorithms), Jaro-Winkler, Cosine, etc...

Edifact - Read edifact into your Go data structures.

feed - A RSS, Atom and JSON Feed generator for Node.js, making content syndication simple and intuitive! 🚀

go-exprtk - Go Mathematical Expression Toolkit. Run-time mathematical expression parser and evaluation engine.